What Is Florida’s Minimum Requirement For Auto Insurance? Image

What Is Florida’s Minimum Requirement For Auto Insurance?

July 1, 2020


Share

If you’re unfortunate enough to be involved in a car accident, your auto insurance policy will help you cover the costs of medical bills, personal property damage and legal fees, and due to its importance, many states hold legal requirements about the amount of insurance you need to carry. 

Do all states require auto insurance?

While not all states require their citizens to have specific auto insurance specifications, all of them require that you accept financial responsibility, meaning that you need enough money in assets or savings to pay for any damages that you cause. Naturally, most people don’t have $100,000 sitting around in their bank accounts, making the need for auto insurance, a given.  

Many states require you, by law, only to have bodily injury liability and personal property liability, with full coverage not made into a legal requirement by most. 

Read on to know more about the minimum auto insurance requirements in Florida:

Bodily injury coverage per person is set at a minimum of $10,000: this is the maximum amount of money that insurers will pay for each person you injure in a car accident. 

Bodily injury per accident is set at $20,000: this is the maximum amount of money that your insurer will pay per accident if there was more than one person in the car you hit or caused a collision with.

Property damage per accident is set at $10,000: this is the maximum amount your insurer will pay out to help you repair the damage you have caused. 

Which states are at-fault or no-fault, and what is the difference?

Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that no matter who is considered at fault in an auto accident, everyone involved must pay for their damages. States such as Florida, require you to purchase personal injury protection and medical payments coverage. Once you’ve done that, you are free to make the choice to purchase additional coverage. 

However, most states are at-fault, which means that whoever is deemed responsible for causing the accident and any ensuing damage, is the one who pays the costs. These states require you to have liability coverage and may also need you to have uninsured motorist coverage, too. 

If you only have the minimum coverage required by your state, is it enough?

If you’re involved in a serious car accident, one in which people are grievously injured or whose death is caused as a result, then there’s every chance your states minimum requirements wouldn’t cover the medical and/or funeral costs. Not only that, but if litigation costs ensue, your liability coverage could quickly diminish. 

Many people purchase only what is minimally required of them by their state, and while that may prove enough for some, is it worth taking the risk?

With many insurers offering attractive insurance premiums, discounts and deals, it might be worth talking to your insurer to check that you have ample coverage in case of an accident, which let’s face it, can happen to any one of us, at any time.